Navigation and visibility
You can open the billing management page by selecting the “Billing” item from the left sidebar.
Only users who have the “Permission to manage global and project-specific billing settings” app permission will be able to configure the defaults.
By default, anyone can view the billing management page, and the contained settings as well, but only users with a new permission type will be allowed to change the defaults.
Global default billing option
You can see a “Default billing option” configuration here, which determines if every new worklog will be created as billable or non-billable by default. Turning this ON will set all worklogs as billable.
Project default billing option
The default billing status of a worklog can also be controlled on a project level. In this case, a new worklog’s default billing status will be set according to the selected issue of one of the configured projects. For any other project, the global “Default billing option” configuration will apply.
You can also see your project-based configurations in three separate tabs:
Default Billable: Here, all configured projects will be listed and can be modified that are billable by deafult.
Default Non-billable: Here, all configured projects will be listed and can be modified that are non-billable by deafult.
All: All configured projects will be listed here.
To configure a new project, click the “New project settings” button in the top right corner, select the project, and the default billing option. It is recommended to select and configure projects that are fewer and different than the global default option.
These settings only control the billing option’s default state, but any user can change the option at any time on any worklog.
How it is work
Here is an example configuration and what the users will experience.
The Billing page configuration:
The “Default billing option” is off, so non-billable
“Awesome Customer” project is added and configured as “Billable” by default
“Internal” project is added and confgiured as “Non-billable” by default
When users log their work on any page:
If the user selects an Issue from any project other than the “Awesome customer” project, the billing switch remains off as non-billable. The user can turn it on anytime when logging or editing a worklog.
If the user selects an Issue from the “Awesome customer” project, the billing switch will be turned on as billable work automatically. The user can turn it off anytime when logging or editing a worklog.
If the user selects an Issue from the “Internal” project, the billing switch remains off as non-billable, so the same as the default billing option. The user can turn it on anytime when logging or editing a worklog.